My Breastfeeding Stories: Breastfeeding Cafe Blog Carnival Day 2

First Published: Jul 28, 2015 7:22 PM

breastfeedingblogcarnival2.png

Today’s topic is Breastfeeding Stories. If you’re interested in reading my previous Breastfeeding Carnival posts please check out my homeschooling blog here.

Those who know me well know that all three of my children have had various breastfeeding struggles. All of mine have had tongue and/or lip ties that have prevented or severely inhibited breastfeeding and all have sensory issues but all have had other special issues as well. I was the first of my friends to have babies and I didn’t have friends to turn to for help and support and my family all had different experiences but many lead to help and support along the way regardless.

IMG_0089_edited-1

With my oldest son (lovingly referred to as Monkey online, for which I have named my knitting business Monkey Bunns as well as Monkey Baby Wrap) I received very little help and support in the hospital in hindsight. They claimed to be very supportive and knowledgeable about breastfeeding but most of the nurses were not up to date on information. When Monkey was young I started attending breastfeeding support meetings. I eventually decided that I wanted to become a trained and accredited supporter to help other mothers but my journey took several twists and turns and I was not able to become fully accredited until my second son was a young baby. I turned to a lot of online forums with him as well as some books. You can learn more details from my previous breastfeeding carnival posts in the link above.

kangaroonursing122012

When my second son was born we really struggled financially to put it nicely. My husband soon started working a second full time job and I was still continuing to prepare for paying my dues to become an accredited breastfeeding supporter. I was able to help other mothers with their issues but my second son was my first baby to nurse without a nipple shield so there was a learning curve there. When he was 7 months old we packed up and moved from Utah to Oregon where my husband started attending graduate school. I became an official breastfeeding helper and had the opportunity to help a lot of moms in person and through email and a few online on Facebook as well. I became a Certified Babywearing Educator and started helping parents babywear and also breastfeed while babywearing.

DSC_1966

Thanks to my awesome photographer Alicia for capturing this moment. You can find her on Facebook here.

By the time Roxy came along the Facebook group was very active and I was very integrated in to my local community through networking. I found it very healing through our very intense first 7 months of struggles until it finally worked out and we found a groove to help other mothers. She is now 18 months and still has some struggles with some issues with her little body but breast milk helps her get enough nutrients and vitamins to help bridge the gap. She nurses a lot in a carrier and I also study to become a lactation consultant while I nurse her. I have read many many more breastfeeding books while nursing her and love to share the information I learn with others.

You can find information about the Breastfeeding Cafe Blog Carnival here. Here’s a link back to today’s post on the Breastfeeding Cafe’s blog.

Tell me your breastfeeding story or stories!

Leave a Reply

