Then and Now, How My Goals Have Changed: Breastfeeding Cafe Blog Carnival Day 7

First Published: Aug 2, 2015 10:00 AM 

breastfeedingblogcarnival7

Today’s topic is Then and Now, How My Goals Have Changed. If you’re interested in reading my previous Breastfeeding Carnival posts please check out my homeschooling blog here.

When I was pregnant with Monkey (who is now 7), I came up with the goal to breastfeed him for 6 months and see how things went. My mom told me I bit her when I was about 6 months and she weaned me because I wouldn’t stop biting. When my baby arrived and couldn’t breastfeed my goals changed. I had hope that I’d be able to make it 6 months but I had to take it weeks at a time. Once he was able to latch with a nipple shield my goal quickly became a month. We passed the month and then I hoped by the time he was 8 weeks we could wean from the nipple shield. He wasn’t able to wean from it. He still was nursing really well though and I had plenty of milk (an overabundant supply). My goal then became 6 months again. We got to that point, by then I was used to biting because for a few weeks he bit to squeeze milk out of me until he learned out to suck. When he bit a couple of times it wasn’t as big of a deal. At 6 months things were going well so I decided a year but I couldn’t see us nursing past that. At 12 months, Monkey was very much a baby still so I decided 18 months. He had different plans and had finished weaning himself by 14.5 months, a week after we got back from our first visit to Corvallis. He had been dropping a feeding at a time for a little over a month at that point and completely lost interest and didn’t look back. I was pretty upset because my goals had changed and we hadn’t got there but he knew what he needed.

For K man, I decided that we would go 18 months and see how things were at that point. At that time I said 2 years and we’d see. His second birthday came and went. He was much more of a baby than Monkey was at that age. When I got pregnant with Roxy when K man was 2 plus 4 months I started bleeding right away. Because I have had 3 miscarriages we knew I needed to wean the last feeding right away. The bleeding stopped. I nursed him one last time the next night. At that point he could go a day without nursing and he was mostly only nursing to go to sleep at night.

Roxy has had some tummy issues her whole life. We finally have a diagnosis for it as of July (she is 19 months now). She still has a lot of reflux from the issues though. I can see her nursing longer than my boys did. I don’t have any limit on her as of right now because she has so many food allergies besides that we have to avoid. I know her milk helps her get what she needs. She still nurses during the night too and I know she needs it. I couldn’t imagine it any other way with her. In a way, I’m glad she is my last because my views have changed very much on the age to which a baby could/should/needs/wants to breastfeed.

You can find information about the Breastfeeding Cafe Blog Carnival here. Here’s a link back to today’s post on the Breastfeeding Cafe’s blog.

How have your goals changed over your course of breastfeeding? Or, if you’re expecting, what are your breastfeeding goals?

Leave a Reply

