2017 Goals

2017goals.jpg

It’s almost 2017!  I had originally planned to sit for the IBCLC exam in 2017 and was so excited to find out that I could sit a year earlier than I had planned when they started offering it twice per year.  I want to share with you my business and personal goals for 2017.  There is a lot of power in writing down goals and working to achieve them in bite-sized pieces.

Personal/Family

  • I’m a homeschooling mother.  Something I have struggled with in the past is PLANNING.  I have a love/hate relationship with sitting down and planning things out.  If I can plan out for a few months at a time though we are more likely to do ALL the subjects.  Otherwise sometimes music or art fall by the wayside or something else will for a few weeks.  I hope to start out the 2017 part of the school year well planned and with a good idea of what we hope to accomplish for school work.
  • I want to go on more adventures with my kiddos and husband.  I would love to explore new places in Oklahoma and visit other places nearby (including Texas and possibly even Tennessee).  We have a limited vacation budget while we’re working hard to pay off debt and save for a down payment to get in to a house that’s our own so we really want to explore what this area has to offer!
  • Tomorrow I will be celebrating my daughter’s 3rd birthday (and hubby’s 33rd!).  I’ll be celebrating my longest time breastfeeding as well.  In all, I will have breastfed 6 years and 6.5 months and counting.  My daughter has some tummy issues and thank goodness after a VERY difficult first 6 months breastfeeding is smooth now and it helps her so much when she’s sick.
  • I look forward to celebrating my 11 year wedding anniversary with my husband.  I hope to go OUT and possibly overnight somewhere with him.  Some years we have had to celebrate in or have taken a baby with us but this year I look forward on focusing on us now that our babies are all a bit older!
  • I would like to practice my knitting colorwork techniques in my spare time.  I also would like to make myself another sweater or maybe even 2 and make one for each of my kiddos.
  • I hope that I am able to exercise more often and become healthier.  I battle allergic asthma and while it’s gotten quite a bit better here, I still suffer from time to time which makes exercising very difficult.  I hope that I can stay healthy this next year and have a consistent schedule to take care of myself!

Business

  • Blog: Consistently post every 2 weeks.  Last year was hard preparing for the IBCLC exam.  I have been working on a bunch of really great topics and posts for 2017 though and I hope to keep posting (at least) every other Friday through all of 2017.
  • Blog: I want to interview some really remarkable professionals in our area including the OKC Metro Birth Professionals!
  • Blog: I hope to continue to bring you more mother’s stories!  If you have a story you would like to share with my readers please email me!
  • Continue to offer excellent service to my wonderful clients.
  • Community: Grow the Nurturing Bonds Breastfeeding Circle.  Become a great resource for the members of my local community and give back.
  • Share current, evidence-based information to doctors and work with local professionals that work with moms and babies.  It’s so important that all professionals are sharing the same up-to-date information with new mothers.

What are your 2017 goals and resolutions?

Leave a Reply

